PDP Gains More Ground In Oyo As Three Commissioners, Many SSAs Join Party

PDP Gains More Ground In Oyo As Three Commissioners, Many SSAs Join Party

The three commissioners appointed from other political parties after the 2019 governorship election by Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party.

Some political parties had teamed up with Makinde and worked for his electoral victory during the 2019 poll.

The governor appointed one of their leaders into his cabinet.

The commissioners, who were also joined by Special Advisers and 93 other Special Assistants appointed into local government positions from the African Democratic Congress said their decision to pitch tent with the PDP in the state was because Makinde had fulfilled the promises he made to the coalition.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Taiwo Adisa, said in a statement on Tuesday that the political appointees announced their decision to join the ruling party in the state on Tuesday.

While speaking on behalf of the other defecting members, the Commissioner for Information, Culture, and Tourism, Dr. Wasiu Olatunbosun, said that the governor had fulfilled all promises made to the ADC as a coalition party.

Olatunbosun, also explained that he, the Commissioner for Energy, Mr. Seun Ashamu, and the Commissioner for Agriculture, Adeniyi Adebisi, decided to join the PDP after much consultation with leaders of the ADC.


Related posts

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: