2023 Elections: Forum of APC ex-Chairmen hails Buhari, Tinubu, takes stand on upcoming guber polls


A forum of former chairmen of the All Progressives Congress,
APC, in the 36 States and the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, has hailed
President Muhammadu Buhari over the smooth conduct of the 2023 general


They also congratulated President-elect, Bola Tinubu and his
running mate, Kashim Shettima on their victory at the polls.


This was contained in a communique issued by the group after
its meeting on Monday.


In the communique signed by Prophet Jones Ode Erue, Chairman
and Rt. Hon. Nelson Alapa, Secretary, the chairmen also took a stand on the
upcoming the off-season governorship election in Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi States.


The communique reads in full:


“After a thorough deliberation of the events of the just
concluded general elections and the upcoming primary elections in Bayelsa, Imo
and Kogi States, we the members of G-37 comprising of former APC States
Chairmen and former members of Non NWC members of National Executive Committee
of APC from 2013 to 2021, resolved as follows:


“That a vote of confidence is passed on President Muhammadu
Buhari, for ensuring a free, fair and credible elections and for diligently
preparing a smooth transition and transmission of power to the President-elect
H.E. Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his Vice President-elect Senator Kashim Shettima.


“That a vote of confidence is passed on the National Working
Committee of APC led by H.E. Senator Abdullahi Adamu for vigorously supporting
and campaigning for our presidential candidate and providing the enabling
conditions which led to massive victories recorded by candidates of the Party
at the national assembly, gubernatorial and state house of assembly elections.


“That we heartily congratulate the President-elect, H.E.
Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his Vice President-elect Sen. Kashim Shettima for their
electoral victory at the presidential polls.


“That given the Party’s overwhelming performance at the just
concluded general elections against the monumental challenges that confronted
us, care must be taken to ensure that our Party produces the best candidates
who have the capacity to win the forthcoming gubernatorial elections in
Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi States


“That in order to sustain our winning streak in Imo State,
we have resolved to support H.E. Governor Hope Uzodinma for a second term in
office due to his sterling leadership qualities in steering the affairs of the
Party that has resulted in the candidates of our great Party sweeping the
national and house of assembly elections seats in the State.


“That we have resolved to support H.E. Yahaya Bello, the
Executive Governor of Kogi State to produce his own successor as history has
shown that Governor Bello has perfected the unique ability to win elections
even from impossible angles.


“That we resolved to support the former Governor-elect of
Bayelsa State, H.E. David Lyon to fly APC flag for the forthcoming
gubernatorial election in Bayelsa State. Recall that H.E. David Lyon has shown
his capacity to win elections in Bayelsa State. It is on record that he
defeated the incumbent Governor during the last election, but for judicial
intervention which truncated his victory stemming from the disqualification of
his then Deputy Governor-elect, H.E. David Lyon would have been sworn in as the
Governor of Bayelsa State. It is therefore our considered opinion that H.E.
David Lyon should be given the right of first refusal to fly the flag of our
great party.


“G-37 seizes this opportunity to call on all those leaders
who worked against the victory of the Party at the presidential elections to
purge themselves of the sins of anti-party activities and returned back to join
hands with our President-elect Ahmed Bola Tinubu, his Vice President-elect Sen.
Kashim Shettima and National Chairman Sen. Adamu Abdullahi to build a united
and prosperous Nigeria and a Party we would all be proud of.”


Related posts

Start Chat
Chat With DJ Gambit
How Can I help You?
%d bloggers like this: