Lagos Assembly rejects 17 out of 39 Commissioner nominees of Gov Sanwo-Olu


The Lagos State House of Assembly
on Wednesday dropped 17 of the 39 commissioners and special advisers nominees
presented to it for screening by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.


The House only confirmed 22
cabinet nominees of the governor, meaning that all is not well between the
Assembly and Sanwo-Olu.


Notable among those dropped are
former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso; former Health
Commissioner, Prof. Akin Abayomi; former Commissioner for Budget and Economic
Planning, Sam Egube, among others.


Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon.
Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the day’s sitting, said the confirmation
followed rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by a ad-hoc committee
led by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed.


He commended the committee for
its effectiveness and urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they
are in office to serve the people of the State and not individuals.


He also promised that the House
would continue to do its best in the interest of the State.


The confirmation was done through
a voice vote as Dr. Obasa mentioned the name of each of the nominees.


However, the lawmakers rejected
17 of the nominees.


Those confirmed include:

Hon. Layode Ibrahim

Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende

Dr. Dolapo Fasawe

Hon. Bola Olumegbon

Mr. Idris Aregbe

Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya

Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai

Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts

Engr. Abiola Olowu

Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka

Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya

Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu

Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN

Mr. Tunbosun Alake

Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde

Dr. Adekunle Olayinka

Dr. Jide Babatunde

Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo

Mr. Tokunbo Wahab

Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu

Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun

Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo


Those not confirmed by the House include:


Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo

Prof. Akin Abayomi

Mr. Yomi Oluyomi

Mrs. Folashade Ambrose

Ms. Barakat Bakare

Mr. Gbenga Omotosho

Engr. Olalere Odusote;

Dr. Rotimi Fashola

Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada

Mr. Sam Egube;

Mr. Olalekan Fatodu

Mrs. Solape Hammond

Mr. Mosopefolu George

Engr. Aramide Adeyoye

Mr. Seun Osiyemi

Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi

Dr. Olumide Oluyinka


Before the exercise, Hon Mojeed
Fatai briefed the House on the outcome of the screening exercise.


Related posts

Start Chat
Chat With DJ Gambit
How Can I help You?
%d bloggers like this: